Seeking Liberty

Liberty is the Fruit from Which All Progress Grows

Cashier plans to sue The Home Depot, lawyer should be disbarred

A former cashier believes his rights were violated by The Home Depot when they fired him for wearing an openly religious piece of flair. The Home Depot counters that it does not permit non-approved buttons, pins and other regalia on their store associate aprons.

“I’ve worn it for well over a year and I support my country and God,” Trevor Keezor said Tuesday. “I was just doing what I think every American should do, just love my country.”

This is the problem with America today:  We think our rights overrule the rights of others.

Home Depot spokesman said Keezer was fired because he violated the company’s dress code.

“This associate chose to wear a button that expressed his religious beliefs. The issue is not whether or not we agree with the message on the button,” Craig Fishel said. “That’s not our place to say, which is exactly why we have a blanket policy, which is long-standing and well-communicated to our associates, that only company-provided pins and badges can be worn on our aprons.”

Fishel said Keezer was offered a company-approved pin that said, “United We Stand,” but he declined.

In other words, he got away with breaking the rules for a year.  When he was caught and asked to follow them, instead of complying to keep his job he refused.  He was fired.  It should have ended there.

Trevor Keezor doesn’t seem to understand this his right to expression does not supersede the right of The Home Depot, its owners and managers to control the message that is disseminated to its customers.  Allowing him to wear the pin could be seen by some as an endorsement of his religious views.This is the reason why The Home Depot doesn’t allow religious expression on its uniforms:  It can be seen as an endorsement of one viewpoint by that store.  It is one thing to promote Christmas sales (which, let’s face it, have nothing to do with the Christian holiday and everything to do with American consumerism), but entirely another for an employee to wear a religion pin.

It does not matter if the pin is Christian or Jewish or Muslim or Hindu or Scientologist: The very appearance can cause deep schizms to appear that could offend customers.  Imagine if the store allowed employees to wear NRA or Planned Parenthood pins.  Imagine if an employee were wearing an Obama pin or a John McCain pin.  A Star of David or a Swaztika.  The carefully controlled message that The Home Depot is a safe place for people to find assistance would be destroyed.

Think about it from another perspective:  Hobby Lobby and Chik-Fil-A are both openly religious companies.  Their corporate identity is, at least in part, tied to the religious views of the company.  Should these organizations be forced to allow an employee to wear a Satanic or Islamic symbol?

Of course Mr. Keezor’s pin is relatively innocuous, but allowing him his pin could lead to another employee demanding they be allowed to express another religious or other viewpoint.  Eventually someone will demand to wear a pin that expresses a racist, sexist or other highly offensive or divisive viewpoint.  When The Home Depot managers allow an offensive pin to be worn, the public knowledge could damage the company’s image with its core clients.  This is why the company established guidelines for what employees should wear.

The key to remember is that the First Amendment is a right we hold between us and the government.  No matter how offensive, divisive or otherwise tasteless a statement might be, the government cannot stop our freedom of expression (assuming said expression does not injure or defame another person), the government cannot restrict that right.

However, when Mr. Keezor took the job with The Home Depot, he agreed to abide by their standards of conduct, including the dress code.  He violated that dress code, was asked to comply, and failed to do so.  He was fired, and justifiably.

Keezer’s lawyer, Kara Skorupa, said she planned to sue the Atlanta-based company.

“There are federal and state laws that protect against religious discrimination,” Skorupa said. “It’s not like he was out in the aisles preaching to people.”

No religion is being discriminated against here.  No one forced Mr. Keezor to go work at The Home Depot.  And no one is allowed to wear religious flair at The Home Depot.  Kara Skorupa should be disbarred if she pushes forward with this frivilous lawsuit.  It is irresponsible to sue a company for exercising its right to control the message it presents to customers.

Full Disclosure: The author worked at a Home Depot store for a year and a half during college.

Filed under: liberty, , , , , , , , , ,

47 Responses

  1. jonolan says:

    They fired an American for wearing a flag pin that had part of the Pledge of Allegiance on it. That sends a message that should be offensive to its core clients.

    That they allowed him to wear it for a year or more without rebuke and only complained when he read his Bible at lunch, makes this a valid lawsuit.

  2. fredmaidment says:

    They fired him for wearing something on his apron not approved by the company. They gave him a chance to correct it. He refused. They fired him.

    The Bible is a red-herring. It may have brought the pin to their attention, who knows. But he wasn’t terminated for reading a Bible at work. He was terminated for insubordination.

    But that’s okay as long as it’s all about your religion, I guess.

  3. click says:

    Hey there, I just hopped over to your website thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would usually read, but I enjoyed your views none the less. Thanks for making something well worth reading through.

  4. Please email me with any pointers about how you made this blog look this good, I would be thankful.

  5. Virtually all of the opinions on this particular webpage dont make sense.

  6. When I start your Feed it appears to be to be a ton of nonsense, is the problem on my part?

  7. account says:

    Jesus Christ theres plenty of spammy feedback on this website. Have you actually thought about trying to get rid of them or putting in a wordpress plugin?

  8. Nice post . Cheers for, posting on this blog mate. I shall message you soon. I didnt know that!

  9. I tried taking a look at your website on my blackberry and the page layout does not seem to be correct. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most smartphone layouts are not working with your site.

  10. I Will have to return again whenever my course load lets up – however I am getting your Rss feed so i can go through your web blog offline. Cheers.

  11. Cool post . Thanks for, posting on my blog page man. Ill email you again! I did not realise that!

  12. buy fridge freezer says:

    As soon as I initially left a comment I clicked on the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and currently every time a comment is added I get four email messages with the identical comment.

  13. Just to let you know your webpage appears a little bit different in Firefox on my laptop using Linux .

  14. like i said says:

    Have you considered including a few social bookmarking links to these sites. At the very least for bebo.

  15. I was wondering if you ever considered adjusting the design of your blog? It is very well written; I love what you have got to state. But maybe you can include a a bit more in the way of written content so people can connect with it better. Youve got a great deal of text for only having one or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  16. Whenever I at first commented I clicked the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and now each time a comment is added I receive 4 email messages with the identical comment.

  17. Virtually all of the remarks on this webpage dont make sense.

  18. this month says:

    I tried taking a look at your website in my cellphone and the structure does not seem to be correct. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cell phone layouts are not working with your web site.

  19. link says:

    After I open up your Rss feed it appears to be to be a lot of garbage, is the issue on my part?

  20. self worth says:

    I appreciate your wp format, where did you get a hold of it?

  21. quit smoking says:

    If you could message me with some hints & tips about how you made this site look this good , I would be appreciative!

  22. pip rebate says:

    Just to let you know your web-site looks a little bit different on Safari on my computer with Linux .

  23. ibs food says:

    The design for your web site is a bit off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your website. I may have to use a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  24. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Rss feed is not functioning today. I tried adding it to my Bing reader account and got nothing.

  25. How come you dont have your site viewable in mobile format? Can not see anything in my Droid.

  26. Re: Whomever made the comment that this was an excellent web site truly needs to possess their brain examined.

  27. Good Stuff, do you currently have a youtube account?

  28. green loan says:

    The majority of of the opinions on this site dont make sense.

  29. I experimented with taking a look at your web site on my mobile phone and the design doesnt seem to be right. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cell phone layouts are not really working with your website.

  30. I like the site layout . How do you make it. It is so sweet!

  31. Do youve a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was asking yourself your situation; weve developed some great approaches and we are looking to swap solutions with other people, be sure to blast me an e-mail if serious.

  32. Have you given any thought at all with converting your main web site into Spanish? I know a couple of translaters right here that will would help you do it for no cost if you wanna contact me personally.

  33. Just to let you know your site appears a little bit strange on Safari on my laptop with Linux .

  34. mlm says:

    The design for your blog is a tad off in Epiphany. Even So I like your website. I may have to install a normal browser just to enjoy it.

  35. found it says:

    Do youve a spam problem on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was questioning your scenario; weve got created some good strategies and we are searching to trade options with other individuals, be sure to shoot me an e-mail if planning to pursue.

  36. Jesus Christ theres plenty of spammy comments on this website. Have you ever believed about attempting to eliminate them or putting in a extension?

  37. Can you message me with a few tips about how you made your website look this awesome, Id be appreciative.

  38. Just to let you know your web-site appears a little bit strange in Safari on my pc with Linux .

  39. silver hair says:

    Oh man! This blog is cool! How can I make it look like this ?

  40. rather beneficial material, overall I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, thanks a lot

  41. sponsor says:

    Im having a teeny problem. I cant get my reader to pickup your feed, Im using aol reader by the way.

  42. Just to let you know your web-site looks a little bit strange on Safari on my laptop with Linux .

  43. drink ware says:

    You should really control the remarks at this site

  44. Do youve got a spam issue on this web site; I also am a blogger, and I was questioning your situation; we have created some good strategies and we are searching to exchange solutions with other people, be certain to fire me an e-mail if planning to pursue.

  45. The look for the weblog is a little bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your site. I might need to install a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  46. This excellent website certainly has all the information I needed concerning
    this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  47. besi wf says:

    these person to incl g downtime states trafficrecen won’t july easily

Leave a Reply

